Skip to content

Michelle’s Cornbread Dressin’

November 21, 2012

I loooove some cornbread dressin. I’ve shoved it into a bird, but I really prefer it to be in its own dish. It’s really a savory breadpudding-like dish if you really think about it. Stove top stuffing mixes, Pepperidge farms stuffing bread crumbs and the like just don’t cut it for me. They taste, hmmm, processed. Through the years, I’ve tasted dressing that I loved and that I hated and when I tasted my friend LaShaunda’s dressing, I was like “Oh my goodness!” I’ve worked my own recipe from hers, well neither of us had a true recipe, it’s all by taste but because several of my friends asked for my recipe 3 years ago, I was forced to write it down. Gah. I. Can’t. Wait.

1 batch of Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix (or your favorite packaged mix) made with an extra egg. Bake according to directions.

6 slices of white bread dried in oven but not toasted.

1/3 cup petite diced onion

1/4 cup petite diced celery (or one stalk)

Wash Park All Purpose Seasoning*

Sage and Savory Stuffing Seasoning* (or Poultry Seasoning)

Olive oil spray or olive oil to saute onion and celery

3 cups chicken broth

1 egg

1. Prepare corn muffin mix + 1 egg according to box directions. Bake.

2. Dry bread slices in 350 degree oven.

3. Let breads cool before crumbling and placing in a large mixing bowl.

4. Crumble both breads in mixing bowl.

5. Saute onion and celery in olive oil until just at the transluscent stage. Put into bowl with crumbled breads.

6. Add seasonings–Wash Park All Purpose Seasoning (to taste) and Sage and Savory Seasoning.

7. Add broth. Make sure the bread doesn’t get too soupy.

8. Mix together.

9. Add beaten egg. Mix into the bread mixture.

10. Spoon some of the mixture onto a microwave safe bowl and microwave for 30 seconds. Taste. Adjust seasonings as needed.

11. Place in greased 8×8 pan and bake at 350 degrees for 30-40 minutes until golden brown.

*Savory Spice Shop in Raleigh is my spice pusher. Bob and Cindy Jones, the SSSR spice merchants/owners are wonderful. They introduced me to a whole new world of flavor. You’ll hear more about them and my addiction to spices in a later post.

From → Recipes

3 Comments
  1. Willie Johnson permalink

    Great blog!! I’m going to imbellish your dressin recipe. It sounds delicious!! Dressin is my favorite. Do you make your own cranberry sauce. Once you go fresh you never go back. 😉

    • Willie, thanks so much for the comment! I’ve tried fresh cranberry sauce but I have to admit that I LOVE the jiggly stuff in the can. I know. You’re thinking she hasn’t tried the right one. Maybe that’s the problem. Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Chrystal permalink

    No wonder your dressin’ tastes so good! Enjoying these posts!

Leave a Reply

