Skip to content

A Quickie! A Vinaigrette Made on the Spot.

December 11, 2012

Tonight’s dinner came together and it was good even though I had NO idea what I was going to cook. Dang it! I meant to take pictures of the baked boneless sirloin porkchops that look fried and oh so perfectly browned but since I didn’t, I won’t talk about how easy and juicy they were.

Because I was so lazy enterprising with cooking tonight, I figured the boys would have a nicely tossed bag o’ salad as the accompaniment. Divann (dear hubby) didn’t want a salad because there was no salad dressing. Whoops! I told him I’d whip one up (crossing my fingers that it would taste great and that I still had some of the herb/spice blend from Savory Spice Shop Raleigh.). With some confidence, I promised that the homemade vinaigrette would be much better than any old bottled dressing. Now the pressure is on!

After whipping up this QUICKIE and tasting it along the way, Divann had the same level of confidence because he poured all of it on his salad without tasting. So I watch and wait. Voilà! He said it was great. Cue the angels’ singing.

So now you want the recipe? Figures. I have no recipe. It’s the scratch cook in me. I’ll give you my best guess. I eyeballed everything. It’s about tasting along the way.

Michelle’s Vinaigrette Quickie:

For a single serving:
3 tbsp Olive oil (good quality but use what you have, I had one that was a step above store brand)
1 tbsp Balsamic vinegar (or your favorite flavored vinegar–please no white vinegar here)
1 tsp grated Parmesan cheese
1 tsp Dijon mustard
1/2 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp kosher salt
1/8 tsp black pepper

20121211-223617.jpg

1. Pour oil in a bowl
2. Add vinegar and mustard. Whisk this until it emulsifies. (Fancy word for mixes together.)
3. Add other ingredients and whisk thoroughly.
4. Taste along the way and adjust until you get the right flavor. If the vinegar flavor is too vinegar-y, add just a but of honey or real maple syrup to counter that.

If you want to make more dressing, remember that making a vinaigrette is based upon an oil to vinegar (or acid) ratio of 3:1, i.e. 3 parts oil to one part vinegar. You can use apple cider or real cranberry juice in place of the vinegar. Swap out the parm for blue cheese or a good Stilton, pecans or walnuts to make it your own. Or use other oils. I prefer olive oil. Add very small bits of fresh herbs or garlic. Have fun with it!

Try it and let me know what you think.

From → Recipes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

