Skip to content

Meat Rolled in Meat? A Christmas Pork Roast

December 25, 2012

“Meat rolled in meat,” exclaimed my husband as I prepared our stuffed pork roast for Christmas dinner. See, I no longer cook a HUGE formal Christmas dinner like I do on Thanksgiving because I consider Christmas a family holiday and Thanksgiving a cooking holiday.

The stuffed roast was inspired by Rachel Ray’s stuffed roast that aired on her new show ‘Week in a Day’ (or something like that). I saw it on tv recently but can’t find the recipe (gah, everytime I say ‘recipe’ in my head, i think ‘receipt’ like on a Charleston, SC cookbook–I digress). Here’s my recipe.

Michelle’s Rachel’s Pork Stuffed Pork (aka Meat Rolled in Meat!)

2 lb pork roast
1/2 lb ground pork
Panko bread crumbs
Poultry seasoning
Kosher salt
Black pepper
Hungarian Paprika
Kitchen twine
Olive oil

1. Buy kitchen twine. It is a must. I ran out. My friend/soror looked for some in Target because she was there doing some last minute Christmas shopping. She hoped to save me a trip. Nada. I ended going to Bed, Bath and Beyond. I purchase what has to be 10 year’s worth of twine for $5.

2. Butterfly the pork roast. How does one do that? Look it up online. It’s hard to explain. I’ll find a YouTube link for you. (I’m a home chef cook not a culinary school graduate). Pound the butterflied roast with a meat pounder thingy.

3. Season it well with kosher salt, pepper and poultry seasoning. To taste. Well, don’t taste the raw pork. I guess about 1/2 tsp of salt, 1/2 tsp poultry seasoning and 1/8 tsp of pepper.

4. Season the ground pork with about 1/2 teaspoon of each: kosher salt and poultry seasoning and about 1/8 tsp if black pepper. Add 1/2 tsp of paprika. Add about 1/8 cup panko bread crumbs. Mix well. Pinch off about 1 tablespoon of the ground pork mixture. Microwave that amount for 45 seconds. Taste it to see if the seasoning is right. Adjust seasoning to taste.

5. Spread the well-seasoned ground pork on the butterflied roast. Roll the roast and tie that bad boy up with kitchen twine. Wrap the roast in plastic wrap and out it in the fridge if you’re not gonna cook it now.

6. Heat olive oil in a skillet on medium.

7. Brown the roast on all sides in the skillet.

8. Heat oven to 350 degrees. Spray roaster with cooking spray. Bake the pork until it’s cooked to 160 degrees. I use a thermometer. You can add chicken stock to the pan when you bake it if you like. I didn’t add it to the version pictured below.

9. Remove from the oven. Let it rest before slicing it.

Serving suggestion: serve sliced with not this much mango chutney

20121224-234002.jpg

20121224-234025.jpg

20121225-163639.jpg

20121225-163656.jpg

20121225-163708.jpg

From → Recipes

3 Comments
  1. Wow, that looks amazing!

  2. I’m gonna try this dish … love pork loin. I have made a few fruit chutneys that I think would be a great addition to the dish (check out my blog for the recipes). Thanks for sharing!

    • I wanted to try making a chutney but decided I didn’t have enough time. I’ll check your blog for chutney recipes.

      This was my first attempt at butterflying the pork loin. It’s not the simple cut in half.

Leave a Reply

