Skip to content

Happy New Year Birthday!

January 1, 2013

In case you haven’t figured it out, today’s my birthday. Because I have mostly been in bed recovering from an illness since Christmas, I wasn’t down for cooking a traditional Southern New Year’s Day meal. In our family the birthday boy or girl gets to select what’s for dinner (or lunch in my case). For my crew, they usually always select a chain restaurant. I prefer a local restaurant, especially one that sources as much of their food locally–local beer doesn’t count.

Off to Beasley’s! Rob, Bria’s boyfriend, joined us for lunch. I think they enjoyed themselves. IJS. Such a cute couple. Good kids young adults.

There was a bit of a wait but it was well worth it. We were seated at the communal table. So sorry to the guy sitting next to me. I didn’t mean to cough so much!. Their entire menu is written in a chalkboard wall. Because I had checked them out online, I already knew I wanted chicken and waffles. So that’s what I got.

The waffle was the creamiest waffle I’ve had in a very long time. The chicken breast was fried to perfect crispness, it was tender and juicy. The perfect marriage of sweet and savory on one fork. Gah! I tried Bria’s lemonade. It had real ice cubes in it. It was the perfect glass of lemonade. I’ve been reading more and more that chic bars are using ice cubes in drinks because they don’t melt as quickly and don’t leave you with a watered down beverage. Bria described the lemonade as tasting as one flavor, not like other fresh-squeezed lemonades that taste like water, sugar and lemon, separately. Look-a-there. My single-note-food child is providing a lemonade critique. She also said the chicken was good and so were the potatoes. She, too, didn’t like the communal table.

I will be going back. It’s doubtful that I’ll fry chicken in the bone ever again.

20130101-164311.jpg

20130101-164337.jpg

20130101-164400.jpg

20130101-164526.jpg

20130101-164547.jpg

From → Lifestyle

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

