Skip to content

Curry Over Here!

January 2, 2013

Tonight’s meal is based on curry. I discovered my penchant for West Indian flavors during my law school years. Not discovered it in the sense that historians lay claim that Christopher Columbus ‘discovered’ America–how does one discover a land and people who weren’t lost? Colonialism. I digress; what’s new? Prior to that my food diversions were primarily European, US regional and Central and South American thanks to my mom!

The first curry chicken I had was in a very small restaurant called Livingston’s, or Livy’s to my cousin Gary. Gah. It was so good. I cant get it out of my head.

Beef patties and coco bread, curried chicken, jerk chicken and pork and rice and peas. Now that’s some good eatin’. This dish will focus on my version of curry chicken. Are you ready for a trip to my island?

Michelle’s Curry Chicken

2 chicken breast filets, cut in 1 inch cubes
1 medium sweet potato, cut in 1 inch cubes
1 medium onion, cut in 1 inch cubes
1/4 c prepared mango chutney (hot or mild)
1/4 c heavy whipping cream
1/8 c chicken broth
2 tsp curry powder (hot or mild)
3 tbsp dried raisins (or cranberries because that’s what I had)
Olive oil or cooking spray
salt, to taste

1. Mis en place! Make sure to assemble all your ingredients first.

2. Heat the skillet to medium. Sauté onions and sweet potatoes until they are soft.

3. Coat the chicken with curry powder.

4. Move vegetables to the side in the pan and add the chicken. Cook until its done. Add more curry powder if you think you need it. A little goes a long way. Also add salt to taste at this point.

5. Add broth and cream. Stir to combine. Add the chutney. Stir well. Taste the mixture and adjust seasonings as needed.

6. Cover and simmer for about 20 minutes until the potatoes are fork tender.

7. Serve over rice. Preferably rice and peas. I didn’t have any coconut milk or fresh thyme which is why I didn’t make rice and peas tonight.

Note: your hands and your kitchen will smell like curry even after dinner’s done and the dishes are put away.

20130102-215827.jpg

20130102-215842.jpg

From → Recipes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

