Skip to content

Chicken Noodle Soup (wit’ a soda on the side)

January 5, 2013

Of course this song immediately came to my mind when I started writing this post. In case you don’t remember it or you never heard it, here it is, Chicken Noodle Soup Song.

Back to the post. As with most of my culinary excursions, I’ll get a ‘jones’ for a particular food item and know that I have to try to recreate what’s in my head if I can’t find a recipe that sounds good to me. I know. To some of you, the fact that a recipe can ‘sound good’ may be odd, but I look at the sum total of the ingredients and if I can’t taste them in my mind’s palate, likely, it ain’t happening for me.

Last night I started thinking about creamy chicken noodle soup. Not quite the viscosity of a bisque, but just a little creamy to cut some of the saltiness that’s usually inherent in soups even if you control your own salt. I found a number of recipes online but I wasn’t interested in any one of them that featured cream of chicken or cream of mushroom or cream of anything soup. Just too processed tasting to me and way to ‘tinny’ (canned) tasting. I’m not hating on people who like or use cream of blah blah soup, I just try to avoid using it by any means necessary.

When I create a dish without a recipe, I usually eyeball everything. But now that I have this blog and I realize that people will likely try my recipes, I”m measuring and writing in my paper journal. Remember, that good cooks taste along the way. Haven’t you seen ‘Top Chef’? The judges go HAM on the contestants who say that they didn’t taste their food while they were cooking.

Creamy Herby Chicken Soup

1 c cooked chicken
1 3/4 c frozen vegetables (I used equal parts mixed veggies, corn and lima beans)
1/2 c sliced onions (or diced if you wish)
1 c egg noodles (dry)
2 tbsp flour
2 tbsp unsalted butter
1 tsp Sage & Savory Stuffing Seasoning blend
1 tsp Fines Herbes
1 tsp salt
water
3 c chicken stock (can be fat free, low/sodium free, whatever)
1 garlic clove (leave whole, remove skin only)
1/2 c heavy whipping cream

1. In a stock pot, boil chicken in water with dash of salt and fines herbes. Boil until it is fall of the bone tender. I used a combination of two large drum sticks and a large chicken breast, boiled separately. Once done, remove the chicken, lightly shred it and reserve the water.

2. In another stock pot, the one the soup will be prepared in, melt 2 tbsp of butter. Add 2 tbsp flour to start the roux. Mix well until thickened.

3. Add onions to the roux. Mix well. Add whole clove of garlic to the roux. Mix well. Add some salt and the Sage & Savory Seasoning Blend to the onions and mix well. Let simmer.

4. To the roux, add 1 c water from the reserved water the chicken was cooked in. Add 1/3 c at a time. Stir between additions. Let simmer for about 10 minutes.

5. Add vegetables. Stir. Remove the garlic clove.

6. To the soup mixture, add 1 c water from the chicken water that was reserved and 3 c chicken broth. Stir. Taste. Adjust seasonings. Simmer for 10 minutes.

7. Add 1 c egg noodles and make sure that they are covered with liquid. Add the chicken. Let come to a rolling boil for about 7 minutes.

8. Let simmer for about 5 more minutes. You’re good.

20130105-173757.jpg

20130105-173837.jpg

20130105-173852.jpg

From → Recipes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

