Skip to content

Lazy Chili Night (super easy for my non-cooking folks)

January 19, 2013

I haven’t forgotten you! I’ve been under the weather since Christmas and just haven’t felt up to cooking like I like to cook. Today’s trip to the grocery store was my first trip since Christmas! Can you believe it? My husband has gone to pick up stuff here and there but he doesn’t so full on grocery shopping.

I planned to make chili since its chilly outside, Blizzard 2013 has come and gone in less than 24 hours and it’s all about watching some sports in my house (husband and son). It’s 7:00 pm and way too late to get started on homemade chili so I decided to get a little help from the Hunts people. I bought a can of “Premium” (whatever, it’s canned tomatoes) Seasoned Diced Tomato Sauce for Chili. Their recipe looked simple enough and it feeds six!

20130119-194148.jpg

1 lb ground beef
1 can 15oz Hunts Diced Seasoned Tomato Sauce for Chili
1 can (14.25 oz) your favorite chili beans undrained (I used black beans)

1. Cook ground beef until it is no longer pink.
2. Stir in sauce and beans.
3. Bring to a boil; reduce heat and simmer uncovered for 10 minutes.

I’m simmering mine a bit longer because no one has come downstairs looking at me wondering where’s dinner.

It turned out pretty good. It will do in a pinch. I made this meal for less than $10!

20130119-195110.jpg

Serving suggestion: garnish with cheese and serve with corn cakes (recipe to follow–got some tweaking to do)

20130119-200251.jpg

From → Recipes

2 Comments
  1. Celeste permalink

    You read my mind….Hubby and I were just talking ’bout some chili!

    • It’s darned good. I may not be making regular chili from scratch anymore (I’m lying). This comes THAT close to my chili ‘cept I add a few secret ingredients.

Leave a Reply

