Skip to content

You Jerk! Chicken, that is!

January 21, 2013

I LOVE me some Jamaican food. Bear with me while I slip into my Jamaican flair.

Ok. I’m back. This recipe is loosely based upon a recipe I saw online here.

Marinade:
1 onion, diced
1 c orange juice
1/2 c soy sauce
1/2 c vegetable oil
1/2 c white vinegar
4 tbsp jerk seasoning
1 lime

Gah! The marinade tastes so good on its own. And it smells so good too!

1. Put all the ingredients except the lime in the blender to purée.

2. Squeeze the juice of the lime into the purée. Set aside.

Preparing the Chicken

1 whole chicken (I used 3 chicken quarters and 2 split chicken breasts, bone in)

1. Rinse and pat dry the chicken

2. Using a fork, pierce the chicken all over.

3. Place chicken in zip loc bag or non metallic dish and coast with marinade, reserving about 1 c for basting/dipping (use half for basting and other half for dipping)

4. Marinate in the refrigerator overnight. Remove and pat away excess marinade from chicken.

5. Roast/bake at 400 on a baking rack until done. Turn and bast ever 20 minutes. OR you can grill the chicken instead of cooking it in the oven.

Chicken in the marinade bath:

20130120-165822.jpg

Just out of the oven!

20130121-205455.jpg

Cut into serving pieces:

20130121-205549.jpg

Serving suggestion: rice and peas (I prefer black beans) and sautéed cabbage–recipes for accompaniments will be posted later

20130121-205743.jpg

From → Recipes

2 Comments
  1. Rhonda permalink

    OMG-This was so good, great flavor for both the chicken and cabbage. Family said this is a keeper, so I will make it again.

    • I am so glad it turned out so well for you. You told me you weren’t a cooking woman but see how easy that was!!!!

Leave a Reply

