Skip to content

Easter Cookies!

March 31, 2013

Happy Easter! After painting my front door and watching paint dry for a good portion of the day, I was determined to bake cookies for Easter baskets for my son, daughter, her boyfriend and my 2 year old great nephew. I got a very late start, but baked more than five dozen cookies.

I was excited to use my newly acquired King Arthur Flour (unbleached all purpose flour). It’s supposed to be the best for baking. I’m not sure why.

I’ve made cookies using a cookie press off and on for the past 15 years with varying levels of success and different recipes–I’m not talking taste, but how the cookies actually come out of the press. This time, these were the best. I’m not sure if it was the recipe, cold cheap cookie sheets, King Arthur Flour, the recipe or the addition of gel food colors.

Here are my tips for using the Wikton Ultra II Cookie Press:

1. Use the recipe listed below!

2. Slightly chill (15-20 minutes) the cookie dough after working the gel color through it if you use it.

3. Only use cold/cool cheap cookie sheets, ungreased and without the non stick coating.

4. Use a cookie press with a rubber bottom because it helps prevent slipping when pressing the cookies onto the cookie sheet.

5. Make sure the cookie press touches the cookie sheet firmly while pressing the cookie dough out the press. Press only once.

Here’s the recipe:

1 c butter, softened (I use salted butter)
1/2 c white sugar
1 lg egg
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2 1/4 c all purpose flour

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Cream the butter and sugar until fluffy.

Add the egg and vanilla to the butter/sugar. Beat until well incorporated.

Add flour and mix well.

If you are going to color your dough, do it now.

Put cookie dough in the press. Press cookies. Bake for 6-8 minutes until edges are slightly golden.

Cool on cooling rack.

These cookies haven’t been glazed:

20130331-120559.jpg

Final product! Glazed cookies!!! Yum!

20130331-161005.jpg

20130331-161026.jpg

From → Recipes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

