Skip to content

Jerk! Quick Midweek Meal.

April 27, 2013

20130427-183946.jpg

Doesn’t that jerk chicken sandwich look just divine? It was soooo good, tender and flavorful. How did I do it you ask? Here goes…

It was midweek and I knew I wanted to prepare something good and flavorful not just cooked meat. Many times during the week most of the week , I find myself cooking a piece of meat, adding a starch and opening a bag o’ salad. Because I hadn’t marinaded the meat overnight, I was concerned that the jerk flavor profile wouldn’t make it’s way all the way through the meat. So I decided to use my handy meat mallet to pound the meat to within a 1/4 inch of its life. HAHA. I added olive oil to two glass dishes and added the chicken to one dish and pork to another. I sprinkled jerk seasoning liberally over the thinly pounded pieces of meat and added orange juice on top–not too much, just enough. I made sure to flip the meat to evenly cover all pieces.

I used my handy dandy electric skillet as a flat top grill so to speak. Perrrfecccct! I drizzled the griddle with olive oil and grilled sliced red onions until brown. I then grilled the meats (pork with pork then chicken with chicken–thou shalt not cook them together) for a few minutes on each side until done.

I prepared a jerk remoulade (fancy word for mayonaise with jerk spices). My family had the choice to make sandwiches or eat the meat as an entree served with buttered rice and bag o’ salad. I chose the sandwich which I served open faced with jerk remoulade, Swiss cheese, topped with grilled onions and a side of potato chips.

Now you want me to give you my recipe? Well, it’s an approximate recipe. You know me by now. often times i dont use a recipe at all or I use one as a suggestion. HAHA

Jerk Marinade
3-4 tbsp olive oil
1/4 c orange juice
2-3 tbsp jerk seasoning

1. Pour oil in glass container for marinating.
2. Place the thinly pounded meat in the oil, flipping to coat both sides.
3. Generously season both sides with jerk spices.
4. Add orange juice.

Set aside for 15 minutes. Remove from marinade and place on hot griddle.

Jerk Remoulade
1/4 c mayonaise
1 tbsp jerk spice

Mix well and set aside.

More pictures of the final product–pork on the left. I sample ate one sandwich of each and my favorite was the pork sandwich. Gah. I’d love one of those sandwiches now!

20130427-185738.jpg

20130427-185800.jpg

From → Recipes

3 Comments
    • I have fun taking pics of my food. I use my iPhone and typically only use natural or ambient lighting. I try not to use the flash because it can be so harsh. I love your blog and I will try some recipes!

Leave a Reply

