Skip to content

7 Layer Salad!

July 8, 2013

20130708-025507.jpg

Do you remember your first 7 Layer Salad? I understand that it’s a southern old school staple, but I believe my first taste was AFTER I graduated from college! I told you in my mini bio that my food experience as a child wasn’t always or even mostly southern on a regular basis!

Anyway, I had a jones for a 7 Layer Salad for the Fourth of July. I love how all the textures come together with that creamy sweet salad dressing (mayo, vinegar and sugar) to pull all the salad together. All my salad favorites together–onion, cheddar cheese, iceberg, peas, bacon and eggs. My salad palate is more refined now such that I almost turn up my nose to iceberg lettuce except on a sandwich and I try to stay away from mayo on a salad (talk about old school–no salad dressing in the fridge? Momma concocted some mayo and ketchup and called it Russian dressing).

This 7 Layer salad is different than the one I/we devoured on the Fourth and Fifth of July. This one is on an iceberg wedge. There’s something super retro about a wedge salad. Dontcha think? Anyway, instead of nearly arranging all the layers, I carefully sprinkled the ingredients on the wedge. This version, I added left over fresh corn on the cob that I reheated in the pan after the bacon was just about crispy and I added Savory Spice’s Italian Dressing Spice Blend to the dressing (recipe below).

Dressing:
1/4 cup mayonnaise
3 tbsp rice vinegar
2 tsp Savory Spice Italian Dressing Spice Blend

Mix well with a whisk until smooth. Taste and adjust the flavors by adding more of the ingredients (that’s how a real scratch cook rolls). Make sure the dressing is pourable but not runny.

Assemble your salad and enjoy!

From → Recipes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

